## Reed Foehl - Bio

Reed McGregor Foehl was born in Boston, Massachusetts and grew up in nearby Dover. Raised in a musical family, his parents had a bluegrass band, by the age of eleven Foehl was a regular street entertainer outside Boston's landmark Faneuil Hall. With his brother Stewart, Reed founded Acoustic Junction. What began as a duo became a jam band that, at times, featured up to six members. Acoustic Junction had relocated to Boulder, Colorado by the time they began making recordings. Their twelve song, independently released debut, "Love It For What It Is, was produced by Rex Fowler [Aztec Two Step], and featured drummer Billy Conway from Boston band, Morphine. By the time their eleven song, sophomore outing "Surrounded By Change" appeared, the band had already undergone some personnel changes. Production of the album was credited to Danny Bernini and Acoustic Junction.

Foehl's 1995 debut solo album, "**Leo's Song**" resulted from sessions that took place in Crested Butte, Colorado. When the band's self-titled third album appeared in 1996 it attracted the attention of a number of major labels, and resulted in Acoustic Junction being offered a recording contract by Capricorn/Mercury Records. That offer was tabled following the band's appearance at the 1997 High Sierra Music Festival in Bear Valley, California. By this stage the Acoustic Junction line-up consisted of Foehl, Tim Roper, Curtis Thompson and drummer Matt Coconis. The band was persuaded by Capricorn to change its name to Fool's Progress, and in 1997 the label issued a self-titled album. Although the disc enjoyed significant airplay and the band appeared on television, the name change caused confusion among their fan base resulting in poor album sales and patchy concert attendance. A year on Foehl persuaded the head of Capricorn to let them revert to the name Acoustic Junction, but the band was subsequently dropped following a label merger.

Returning to the self-released album approach, featuring old and new material, "Acoustic Junction – Live 5-4-99" was recorded at The Iron Horse in Northampton, Massachusetts. This fourteen-track collection also featured a studio recording of the song "Hollow Ground." Although "Strange Days" didn't appear till 2000, it had been recorded during the band's sojourn with Capricorn. Capricorn decided to pass on the album and it was finally released by Omad Records. A fourteen-song collection, it featured a Foehl/Graham Nash duet on "Dancin' For You" and the Phil Roy/Nicholas Cage co-write "Melt." The final Acoustic Junction line-up amounted to Reed Foehl [vocals, guitar], Curtis Thompson [bass, guitar, mandolin, vocals], Tom Diehl [drums, vocals] and Tim Roper [violin, keyboards, flute, harmonica, vocals].

Acoustic Junction broke up in 2001 and Foehl proceeded to launch his solo career. His sophomore solo album, "**Spark**," was co-produced with friend Danny Bernini in the latter's Easthampton, Massachusetts home studio. An eleven track effort, it was released during 2004 on Reed's own NeverFoehl Record label. In addition to the Acoustic Junction, Fool's Progress and Reed Foehl solo albums already mentioned, the download web site <u>www.MP3songmill.com</u> features a number of additional, undated Foehl solo/band recordings including "**Blue Tape**" [199?], "Live In Studio 1.06.01" [2001], "**Spark Instrumental**" [2004], "**Rough Cuts And Demos**" [2006], "**Unreleased Reed Foehl**" [200?] and "**Written By Reed Foehl**" [200?].

In a solo capacity, Foehl has opened shows for Patty Griffin, Taj Mahal, Dave Matthews and Ray LaMontagne. Foehl's songs have appeared in a number of film and television productions, including the movie "Just Friends" [2005] and in series such as "Joan Of Arcadia," "Laguna Beach," "Dawson's Creek" and "Party Of Five." Red Parlor Records released Foehl's [official] third solo album "Stoned Beautiful" in late March 2007.

Discography :

with Acoustic Junction - "Love It For What It Is" [1991] ; "Surrounded By Change" [1993] ; "Acoustic Junction" [1996] ; "Acoustic Junction – Live 5-4-99" [1999] ; "Strange Days" [2000] : with Fool's Progress - "Fool's Progress" [1997] ; Solo - "Leo's Song" [1995] ; "Spark" [2004] ; "Stoned Beautiful" [2007] :

Arthur Wood Kerrville Kronikles 03/07. [595 words]